The Healing Power of Music

In the disastrous year of 2008, I suffered a debilitating episode/stroke that left me senseless and helpless and very afraid.  As the year passed by and recovery began for me, we moved into a new home and I began to look at my life, where I’ve been and where I was at that time.  Taking a live evaluation, thinking my life was over, I finally went back to the thing I love most in life, playing the clarinet.  Well, a disparity of thought at the time as I was just beginning to talk again in a perceptual way and was not totally functioning at the time, but I picked up the horns anyway and began a journey that I continue to this day. 

The first notes were insanely bad, squeaks, squawks and something horrendous.  However, as I continued each day to do a little more, I began to get enthused, I had a focus point in my life again and something to train the brain to center and find that place of solace and solitude in the vibration of the reed against my lips and the wonderful feeling of accomplishment with each passing day.

I did not have a physical therapist and being the individualist I am, pushed myself to do better and to figure out how to come back to a performance standard I dearly treasure. 

Frustrations came and left, but I keep at it.  Scales, Scales in Thirds (Thank You Dr. Gholson), Fingers and finger movement (Thank You Leon Russianoff), Musical Integrity (Thank You Alan Balter) and a wonderful discipline with attention to every detail of the practice and working through problems with the fingers and the vision (Thank You Mr. Marcellus).  At the time, my eyes would not focus on the notes themselves and were still floating around the page and my thought process’s were here and there. 

As time progressed, I became adamant with myself and pushed to achieve that focus of sound, timbre and smoothness of the tongue movement and the shape of the wind column, working very meticulously on even the slightest perception of imperfection in my playing. 

Each day became a chore dealing with these issues, fears, anger at myself and other aspects seemed to be moving slowly, but with persistence I knew I could and would be a lot better.  Suddenly, a flash of light went off in my pea brain and it occurred to me that the scales were becoming more commonplace to me and the etudes that I could hardly see were coming into focus, and thus began the major journey of recovery. 

Mr.President, I’ll take care of my own health, Thank You Very Much.
Dear Jere, Thank you for coming to audition for THE HOUSTON CECILIA’s 2010-11 season. I am happy to tell you that I’d like to offer you a spot in the choir, which will begin rehearsals on Tuesday, September 7th at St. Philip.

Disablity?  BOSH!

Here We Go AGAIN!

I hope this empowers everyone to look within themselves and begin to heal.

About ukitena

“My purpose is to empower students and avid artistic connoisseurs to think for themselves. I will empower students and avid artistic connoisseurs to think for themselves through my performing, teaching, speaking and jovial actions. I will empower creativity in daily life and living and give the artistic connoisseur the feeling it is ok to be creative and push boundaries in their lives and way of living.”

5 comments

  1. Lucy Riggs

    Thanks for sharing your inspirational story Jere.

  2. moonshine

    Wow, what an incredible and amazing journey you have been on. You are an inspiration, a breath of fresh air. There needs to be more people like you. I hope this story gets out there and people begin to realize the possibilities. Thank you for this.

    Moonshine

  3. Check out the updates, more coming…

  4. SEO

    Good day! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the good data you have
    got right here on this post. I might be coming back to your
    weblog for extra soon.

Leave a Reply

