Finger Positions

I am going to the Russianoff Method again about finger positions and working on the E Major scale before retackling the b and f# majors. In the process I am feeling the way my fingers get out of position and do not give closure to the holes, especially in the altissimo register. It’s funny that I am dealing with old habits of forcing the notes out and feeling I can actually pull them out by tensing up and pulling up on the fingers instead of keeping them in position and letting the melodic line flow.
I have discovered some new fingerings for the altissimo ranger in the process, so something very interesting is coming from the practice.

In the afternoon practice session, I found the eyes focusing and the brain communicating with the fingers more rapidly after the gruelsome work with scales in the morning.  The Rose Rode Etudes layed a bit more easily under the fingers as did the Poulenc.  The Altissmo still needs a lot of work in solid fingerings and embrochure formation across the registers as usual, but I intend to work on that more in depth tomorrow.  Again, squeaks and squawks, but in a productive way, not destructive. 

I am looking forward to pulling out another old warhorse, the Rossini Theme and Variations and give the fingers a good workout.  Arpeggios, here I come!

About ukitena

“My purpose is to empower students and avid artistic connoisseurs to think for themselves. I will empower students and avid artistic connoisseurs to think for themselves through my performing, teaching, speaking and jovial actions. I will empower creativity in daily life and living and give the artistic connoisseur the feeling it is ok to be creative and push boundaries in their lives and way of living.”

Leave a Reply

